In this section
About us / News and media / News and media / Chris Laidlaw joins Wellington Water Committee

Published 27/08/2015

Chris Laidlaw joins Wellington Water Committee

The Wellington Water Committee welcomed Chris Laidlaw as the representative of Greater Wellington Regional Council at its meeting last week. Mr Laidlaw, chair of Greater Wellington Regional Council, joins David Bassett, deputy mayor of Hutt City, Nick Leggett, mayor of Porirua City, Wayne Guppy, mayor of Upper Hutt City, and Wellington City councillor Iona Pannett on the Committee.

The Committee is responsible for overseeing the governance and direction of Wellington Water, the water services management company jointly owned by the five councils.

“Wellington Water is a very innovative example of genuine regional cooperation on issues that go beyond council borders,” Mr Laidlaw said.

“It will continue to deepen and strengthen that cooperation as it grapples with some of the biggest infrastructural challenges this region must face in future.”

Mr Bassett, who chairs the five-person Committee, said he was delighted Mr Laidlaw had elected to join the committee in his new role as regional council chair. “Having someone of Chris’s experience, status and collaborative focus stands us in excellent stead to guide the company in its regional approach to water infrastructure management.”

Media Enquiries

Email address:

Phone number: 021 302 259