The Board

David Wright
David Wright, Chair

David is a professional company director and business consultant. He has held Chief Executive and senior management positions in the primary production, transport and electricity industries across both the private and state sectors.

He is currently Chairman of the Air Rescue Group and Establishment Chair of Solomon Islands Airport Corporation Limited. He is a Director of WEL Networks Limited, the Waikato based electricity and fibre infrastructure provider, NZRS Limited and is a Director on the Advisory Board of the Global Safety Index Pty Limited.

 Cynthia Brophy
Cynthia Brophy, Director

Cynthia Brophy is the Chief Executive of the Human Rights Commission and is an experienced leader with skills in people and performance management, corporate and government relations and infrastructure management.

Prior to working for the Human Rights Commission, Cynthia was general manager of People and Corporate Relations for Transpower. Her role also encompassed all aspects of communication and government relations as well as Transpower’s community programmes.

She has extensive experience in the financial services sector, working as a general manager for corporate affairs for the National Bank and ANZ Bank, and headed corporate affairs at Airways Corporation.

 Nicki Crauford
Nicki Crauford, Director

Dr Nicola Crauford has a PhD in engineering from the University of Southampton, and a background in energy infrastructure governance and senior management. Nicki chairs the Institute of Geological and Nuclear Science (GNS) and is Deputy Chair of New Zealand Fire Services Commission. She is a director of Watercare Services, Orion New Zealand and the Environmental Protection Authority. She is also a member of the Local Government Risk Management Agency Establishment Board.

Nicki is a Chartered Professional Engineer and a fellow of Engineering New Zealand.

 Dave Benham
David Benham, Director

In September 2014, after nine years in the role, David stood down as Chief Executive of the Greater Wellington Regional Council. Prior to that he was Chief Financial Officer, and subsequently managed the bulk water and plantation forestry responsibilities of that Council. Earlier roles included a number of financial positions in the private sector.

David is a director of Wellington's port company Centreport Ltd. He's the independent chair of Otago Regional Council's audit and risk committee as well as the independent appointee to the Hawkes Bay Regional Council's finance audit and risk committee.

David joined the Board of Wellington Water in July 2015.

 Geoff Danderfield
Geoff Dangerfield, Director

Geoff Dangerfield works in governance and advisory roles in the public and private sectors. He is Executive Chair of the New Zealand Festival, Director of Payments NZ Ltd, Chair of the Major Outsourced Contracts Board for the Department of Corrections, and Chair of Risk and Assurance for Oranga Tamariki, and a member of the Local Government Commission.

He was Chief Executive for the NZ Transport Agency 2008-15 and Chief Executive of the Ministry of Economic Development prior to that.  

 Phil Barry3
Philip Barry, Director

Philip Barry is an economist and corporate adviser. He is a co-founder of corporate finance and economic advisers TDB Advisory and has had over thirty years’ experience providing economic and financial advice to leading companies in the private and public sectors.

Phil is a member of the International Monetary Fund’s Panel of Fiscal Experts, specialising in State-Owned Enterprises and Public Private Partnerships. He is President of New Zealand Football and a Member of Oceania Football Confederation’s Executive Committee.